About the Allen Soil & Water Conservation District

The mission of the Allen Soil and Water Conservation District is to promote the wise use, improvement and maintenance of the soil, water and other natural resources in Allen County.

Programs and services of the District include resource management information and technical assistance with installing and maintaining a broad range of conservation practices. Assistance is provided at no cost to individuals, organizations, unit of governments, and communities.

As a separate unit of County and State government, the District receives funding from the Allen County Commissioners and the Ohio Soil and Water Conservation Commission. The District also receives funding from Townships, Villages and Cities to serve urban Stormwater and site review programs. Modest funding comes from annual tree seedling sales and operation of the county farm each year.

All programs and services of the District are offered on a nondiscriminatory basis without regard to race, national origin, gender, religion, age, disability, political beliefs, sexual orientation, and marital or family status.

Once a part of the “Great Black Swamp,” Allen County began as a major lumber and milling center. In the late 1800’s, oil was struck near Lima and oil derricks dotted the landscape for a short period of time. Today, manufacture of the transportation equipment dominates the Allen County economy.

Board of Supervisors

Robert Hutchinson – Chairman

Jim Miller – Vice Chairman

Marty McCluer – Treasurer

Brandon Fischer – Secretary

Teresa Adams – Member

The Board of Supervisors of the Allen Soil and Water Conservation District meets on the third Wednesday of every month at 5:30pm at the district offices at 1870 Slabtown Road, except for August when the board meets on the second Wednesday.

2021 Meeting Dates
December 22

2022 Meeting Dates
January 19
February 16
March 16
April 20
May 18
June 15
July 20
August 10
September 21
October 19
November 16
December 21

Allen SWCD Staff

Casey Heilman – District Administrator  | 419-222-0846 x 1002

Albert Suniga – Stormwater Inspector  |  419-222-0846 x 1005​​

Jarrod Wehinger – WLEB Multi-County Technician  |  419-222-0846 x 1006

Jordan Greeley – District Technician  | 419-222-0846 x 1003

Haley Belisle – Ottawa River Watershed and Stormwater Program Coordinator  | 419-222-0846 x 1000

Anna Cotterman – District Technician  | 419-222-0846 x 1001

Lydia Archambo – Education and Communications Coordinator  |  419-222-0846 x 1004

NRCS Staff

Jenelle Ott  – Acting District Conservationist  |  419-738-4016 Ext 115

Randy Buxton – Civil Engineering Technician

Kylie Schulte – Soil Conservationist Technician

Join Us

Join Us